RSS

Featured Photo – In The Field

05 Nov

In The Field

This was a very bad and dull image though I liked the scene. No matter what I tried I couldn’t push the colours or the contrast of this image without sacrificing something in return. So I decided to do a few things. First was to process the RAW to get as much detail in the background as possible (not much but it is there). Then I converted it to black and white with a red filter thrown in. The sky was completely white with no detail at all so I put in some colour in the form of vertical gradient tool. The last part of the process was to add grain to give the sky some texture.

Images like these are part of life in Malaysia for a few months of the year so I think its neccesary to push the post processing without sacrificing the ‘integrity’ of the image. I chose the square crop as I think the trio relationship of the telephone poles with the farmer makes for a very nice composition. The motorcycle is also a bonus. Everything just fits for me.

Canon EOS 5D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS at 200mm
f/8 1/100 ISO 200 Aperture Priority

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
