RSS

Featured Flower Photography – We Are Family

09 Nov

We Are Family.jpg

I bought my beloved EF 85mm f/1.2 L just under a year ago and its my favourite lens. Take away all my other lenses but leave me this one. Canon calls it the definitive portrait lens not only because of the very large aperture but because of the colour saturation, contrast. sharpness even when wide open and of course the bokeh. All this really makes the pain of slow focussing almost pleasurable.

This lens absolutely demands to be used wide open at f/1.2. Just to be different I am posting portraits of a family of flowers (hence the title). This was the first picture I took when I bought the 85 L which was mounted on a 5D. There wasn’t much tinkering done on this image in Photoshop as the large aperture managed to darkened all the background (this was shot late evening) and kept the flowers in good exposure.

Canon EOS 5D
EF 85mm f/1.2 L
f/1.2 1/800th ISO 100 Aperture Priority

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
