RSS

Why did I choose Canon? Because of the 3 sisters…….

09 Nov

I’ve always been fascinated by discussions and debates around camera gear. People are always ready to defend their gear against the invaders, pretenders and wanna-bes (at least that’s what they called all other equipment manufacturers). I have always shied away from these debates but for posterity’s sake let me put my reasoning.

To be honest I have always loved Nikon cameras. There’s just something about the feel of a Nikon body that just rocks. It feels solid. It feels like it was meant to go to war. When you hold it, you know you are holding something that is meant to be part of you and when I started photography, I nearly went to the way of the Nikon.

For me, the optics of photography is paramount. Focal length, aperture, whether zooms zoom or primes, distortion contrast, saturation, sharpness all pay a critical role in making the image. In a way, I looked at the lenses first before I look at the body. There are 2 primary reasons why I went for Canon EOS, the EF 35mm f/1.4 L and the EF 85mm f/1.2 L. I am a self-confessed aperture freak and these 2 beauties represents 2 of what I call the 3 sisters (the other lens being the EF 135mm f/2.0 L). Nikon just doesn’t make anything close (at least to my knowledge). I shoot wide open when I use them (which is an exercise in precision in itself) but the pictures are just breath taking. I used to own the EF 135mm f/2.0 L but I sold it to finance my 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS but I really regret it now.

EF 85mm f/1.2 L

EF 35mm f/1.4 L

But have no fear, 2 will be 3 soon and 3 will be 4 with the announcement of the development of the EF 200mm f/2.0 L IS

Visit my gallery of pictures taken with the EF 35mm f/1.4 L here….

Visit my gallery of pictures taken with the EF 85mm f/1.2 L here….

Visit my gallery of pictures taken with the EF 135mm f/2.0 L here…..

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
