RSS

Broom award

15 Nov

It’s not often in Malaysia’s day-to-day that something extra-ordinary happens. When I say extra-ordinary, I actually mean something different, maybe a change. And I am pathologically critical of behaviours and attitudes of our public figures and leaders. But when I read about the ‘Broom Award’ I find myself actually applauding the MB. 2 local councils, the Hulu Selangor District Council and Hulu Selangor Land Office, were given a broom award each for failing to meet targets given to them.

Of course there was a general outcry pouring from politicians and civil servants saying it was demeaning, a bad omen, crude and in bad taste. Well, no such thing for me. Sometimes we have to forego sophistication and resort to strong symbols to get the point across and I believe the message has been received loud and clear.

What is puzzling for me (actually this is a common puzzle in life here) is that everyone is focussed on the broom instead of expressing shock horror about the inadequacies of the agencies involved and, dare I say, find out ways and means to resolve them. Won’t life be more pleasant then? I know I’ve had my fair share of pain and heartaches dealing with the government, both state and federal. If something like this is what it takes, then broom on.

See here for an update…..

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
