RSS

Featured Portrait- Self Portrait

31 May

Reza

I took a series of self portraits as part of my experimentation in the last few days. This one is quite an interesting one.

See the lighting diagram to know how i did this shot.

Light 2

I used 2 speedlites (580EXII and 580 EX) triggered by the ST-E2. The first speedlite (A) with the flash diffuser (as shown) and placed about 30 degrees to my left
.
Flash diffuser

This one would act as the main light and was set at 1/8 power.

The second light (B) was placed directly behind me facing the wall and set at maximum power. This is the background light and its purpose was to blast the wall with light so that it the wall would appear white.

The camera settings was f/8 1/250th ISO 400 whigh was set manually.

Notice the light and shadow relationship. I took about 1 hour to get this right as I wanted the effect of half my face in light and half my face in shadow. The difficult part was not actually the lighting but my positioning in relation to the light. Take a picture, go to camera, adjust camera, adjust light, adjust me.

I wished I had an extra light so that I can snoot it and light the camera properly.

Canon EOS 40D
EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L IS at 70mm
Speedlite 580EXII
Speedlite 580EX
Speedlite ST-E2

f/8 1/250 ISO 400 manual exposure
Main Light 1/8 power
Background light maximum power

Note: Image has been digitally enhanced.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Featured Portrait- Self Portrait

  1. muhamadazmi

    June 3, 2008 at 11:18 am

    very nice… 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
