RSS

Study of bokeh

14 Sep

Study of Bokeh

I am experimenting a lot these days in an effort to discover new way of expressions through photography. One of the projects I’m doing is a study of bokeh or background blur. Its a simple project to conceptualise but very difficult to execute in my opinion. Here’s how…

How to do it? Well, I took my EF 85mm f/1.2 L (Canon’s king of bokeh) and my 1D Mark III out in broad daylight and I had to look for scenes where the sun would provide a backlight such as a tree. The trick is to spot places where the sunlight could peek through such as between the leafs. Find a nice foreground subject such as a flower, compose as you would normally but making sure the streams of sunlight can get through and there you have it. If done right, the streams of sunlight will be rendered as circles (or near circles) of varying intensity.

Study of Bokeh

I want to find more ways to use bokeh as part of the image. Maybe use street lamps in the background at night. Let me know if you have any other suggestions eh?

Study of Bokeh

Study of bokeh

Study of bokeh

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Study of bokeh

  1. Amy a.k.a Hamidah

    September 17, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Kudos reza. The photos look surreal & mystical. U got lillies too?

     
  2. Asya Jamaludin

    September 18, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    the top photo’s the best one for me. i love it. will i be able to take a photo like that with my lens? theoretically i mean. not necessarily me taking the photo. before you make any smart comments!

     
  3. azmi

    September 19, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    yeah bro, nice work man.. those picture look v nice..

     
  4. siti

    March 29, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    bokeh is my personal favourite. Sometimes i challenged myself by not using the smallest fstop available so i can produce bokeh like this : http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3454/3240434813_37ae1e9e72_b.jpg

    being me who played a lot, i also played with bokeh to produced shaped bokeh with lights. weird shapes sometimes.

    do you know a place which have a background of colourful lights at night? u can make use of the light to create such a pretty bokeh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
