RSS

Hello Bird

30 Sep

Peek

I caught this image when I was traveling in India earlier this year. One of the places I visited was Fatehpur Sikre, 1 hour out of Agra which is the home of the famous Taj Mahal. I can’t wait to travel again as I think I have made some progress in the last 9 months with my photography. Certainly if I were to visit India again (and to the same places) I htink my images will be very different now. Definately the equipment will also be different.

During that trip I brought my Canon EOS 1DIII and 40D plus the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS and 24-70mm f/2.8. I think my back is still suffering now. If I were to do it again I’ll bring a Leica (maybe M6 if not the M8) and a collection of lenses which collectively would probably be about 1 quarter of the weight and size of the dSLR gear. Maybe I’ll bring a 5D with the 24-105mm f/4 IS to cover wide-angle and medium telephoto range.

Canon EOS 40D
EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS at 200mm
f/2.8 1/1000 ISO 200 Aperture Priority

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Hello Bird

  1. Discover Unearthed

    September 30, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Really nice shot and certainly not one of the obvious ones of Fatehpur Sikre. I visited there some time ago and my two most memorable shots were of a boy diving in to some water and a huge cloud of bees swarming on the entrance arch (we ducked and ran inside!). Which goes to prove you don’t really need to ‘sight-see’ at all to get the good shots!

     
  2. Capt Suresh Sharma

    October 14, 2008 at 11:02 am

    After some more practice when you visit the same place, you will find that your eye has developed to see more compositions than what you did on previous trip. I have done photos of The Taj and every time I visit, it gets better. India is a paradise for travelers and photographers.

    Stay in touch. All the best for your next trip.

     
  3. therighteye

    October 19, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Discover Unearthed

    I try to avoid the touristy shots and try to go for something original. Makes it much more adventurous.

    Capt Suresh makes a good point though. I think if I do go back to Fatehpur Sikre (or any other places I visited) my shots will be more deliberate and very different. I know I’m very disappointed of my Jaipur shots. I wasn’t able to really capture the essence of the place…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
