RSS

Building confidence with the Leica M6

05 Oct

Boy at KLCC
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Kodak BW 400CN at f/2

I spend the afternoon at the Kuala Lumpur City Center (KLCC) Park today. I wanted more time with the Leica M6 as part of my efforts to get to know it better. My pictures have not been all that good since I got it 4 weeks ago. I must have shot 20 rolls since I got it and my success rates is less that 10% (not good). I’m going to Thailand in a couple of weeks time and I’m considering not lugging my Canon dSLRs with me. This time I brought my Canon Powershot G7 which acted as a reference for metering and exposure. The flow was simple. Meter with the M6 (or use the sunny 16 rule) and use the G7 to check it. Using this method I was able to make sure that I get the correct exposure based on the effect I wanted. I shots 2 rolls of Kodak BW 400CN and 1 roll of Fuji Pro 400H.

The process worked beautifully and my success rate has gone up (as far as nailing the exposure is concerned). It was raining heavily today so I took the opportunity to take shots that I would normally never take. Because the M6 looks so small people hardly took any notice of me especially when they see me wind the shutter.

In the picture above, this boy was just sitting comfortably by the steps and I managed to get up real close to him without scaring him off. A nice street portrait. Just to show how amazing the 50mm Summicron is, have a look at the hat. You can actually see the frayings of the fabric.

Cleaning the pool at KLCC
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Kodak BW 400CN at f/8

Above is a picture of 1 of the attendants to the shallow lake in KLCC Part. He was throwing some kind of powder in the lake. I saw that the sunlight had a beautiful effect on the water and am very happy that I managed to capture the image.

Punk
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Kodak BW 400CN at f/2

There were a lot of ‘punks’ in KLCC today and someone told me that they usually come in a large group in the weekends here (I say punks with inverted commas because I don’t think they are really hard core like the ones you see in London). This particular one was just standing by the steps. I looked at him and asked if I could take his picture and he just smiles.

On the steps
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f/4

More punk wanabees? Interesting story about this image is that only 3/4 of the frame has a picture. I guess that I didn’t wind the film enough when I loaded it. It makes a nice square crop. Must make a mental note in case I miss a really good image in the future.

It was raining heavily this afternoon and I got some really nice images of the effect of rain on the KLCC Park.

In The Rain
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Kodak BW 400CN at f/5.6

I wanna play in the rain
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f/8

Rain time at KLCC
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f/8 converted to black and white in CS3.

In the rain
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f/8

Hailing a cab
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f/8

A nice suprise is a pal of mine, Radzi who I bumped into. He works for Mercy Malaysia which is one of the most active disaster relief organisations in the region. He asked me if I was interested in doing some photography volunteer work for them and of course I said yes.

Radzi of Mercy Malaysia
Leica M6 50mm Summicron f/2.0 Fuji Pro 400H at f2

I am gaining more and more experience with the rangefinder and I find my vision and perception is slowly changing and evolving. I am more confident of taking the Leica M6 to Thailand with me. WHether I decide to bring my Canon dSLR will be decide later. Who know. I might just take the G7 along with the Leica and leave the rest behind.

Thailand here I come.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Building confidence with the Leica M6

  1. ly-d

    October 9, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    nice shots.. esp the ones in the rain – won’t it damage the leica?

    btw, nearly got a heart attack when i thot i recognised one of those wannabe punks.. my youngest bro has taken to those punk hair-dos – and he does like to hang out @ klcc..

    but after scrutinising the image – realised that it wasn’t him. it’ll be good evidence tho, if it was – and if was on a school day 🙂

     
  2. kevin lim

    October 27, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    nice shots

     
  3. Bestcanon powershot

    May 4, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Good piece.

     

Leave a Reply

 
