RSS

Developing black & white film disasters……..

12 Oct

I have processed about 10 rolls of b&w film and there has been a lot of disasters and mishaps. I thought I share this firstly as part of my own learnings but also for the benefit of others.

Scratches, light leak
Thumbprint, scratches, light leak

Watermark
Scratches, light leak, water spots

Double exposure
double exposure

scratches
Light leak, scratches, thumbprint

Fogging
Light leak

Over agitation
Over agitation, squeege streaks

Accidental exposure
Accidental exposure to film

Sigh. This is all part of the learning curve. At least I am making these mistakes with ‘non-critical’ film. The more mistakes I make now the better. It is a bit disheartening though but perseverance is key to mastering anything.

Changes I am making are as follows:

1. Wear surgical gloves
2. Be more certain in mixing chemicals
3. Mark all film with info if I am changing film half way
4. No squeege
5. Use distill water
6. Ensure film reels are completely dry
7. Buy more film reels
8. Use photo-flo
9. Rewind the film and take it out as soon as finished

I’ll add more as I think of them….

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2008 in Musings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Developing black & white film disasters……..

  1. Terry

    October 16, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Just noticed your blog. I’ve a Leica M4-P & planning to start out processing my own b&w film too. Thought it was great that you wrote abt it…incredibly helpful for ppl like me! I’m in Klang Valley too…Perhaps can comm via sms sumday

     
  2. therighteye

    October 17, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Hi Terry. Great news on the Leica M4-P. I have been shooting digital for the last 3 years and it’s a brilliant journey of discovery to shoot 35mm film. If you’re new then I’ve got a lot to share withy you. Drop me an email at reza@therighteye.net and we can have a drink…..

     
  3. chrome76

    October 19, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Salam mr reza.. i accidentally found your blog while I was googling for infos on the development time for the Lucky 100 films.. my friends are coming over to my house to do the development process but as I have never done any on the film so I googled the infos.. from my research the lucky film is very sensitive and fragile hence the scratches and all..

     
  4. therighteye

    October 19, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Hi Chrome 76

    You have a good clean set of film there. I have to be more careful.

    Interesting to see you’re using the same scanner as I am. I’m not happy with the quality of the scanning and am shopping for a new one….

     
  5. chrome76

    October 24, 2008 at 10:03 am

    The scanner is the cheapest i can find and the most affordable for me for the time being. My friends in a local photography forum are planning to set-up a complete darkroom facility complete with an enlarger. I’m offering a room in my house for them to use. If the set-up is done i’ll invite you to do some wet printing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
