RSS

Tribute to childhood friends

25 Dec

Childhood

Childhood friends

I was observing these 2 kids play and it suddenly reminded me of my childhood.

This is a tribute to all our childhood friends. People that played such an important part of our life growing up. We may never see them again and if we were to bump into them, we probably won’t recognise them.

Childhood

I was very much of a loner as a child and didn’t have many friends. I remember wanting to be with the crowd but didn’t feel that I was accepted. I suppose I wanted the other kids  to ask me to join them instead of me asking them whether I can join in. But I remember as a 10 year old having a friend called Ismith. He lived quite far from my house but we went to school together. We had a blast of a time. He went to boarding school eventually and I left for England not long after that. I have never see him since. I hope he’s doing well. 

Childhood

I also had another friend, Faizal and his brother Fairuz who lived next door to me. We would do everything together. We had bicycles then and we would just get on our bikes trying to find adventure in our neighborhood. We also had to go to tuition classes and Quran reading classes together. I wonder what they are doing now…

Childhood friends

I can also remember another friend, this time when I was 5 years old. My friend was a girl and I called her Yayang. I can never really remember what we together. All I can remember was a bunch of emotions. Happy ones. I actually met up with her not long ago. Funny story. She actually came up to me and asked if my name was Reza. It was unbelievable that she can remember what I looked like even after 20 years. She had blossomed to a beautiful woman then. But things were just not the same. As much as we shared a lot as children we had grown up to be very different. But the feelings are still there and I smile every time I think of her.

Childhood friends

I suppose people come in and out of our lives. Some stay for a short while. Others for longer. Some were good while others less so. But good or bad, they contribute to our lives and we grow from our experience with them.

Childhood

But.

Wouldn’t it be great if we can live like that again???

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 25, 2008 in Musings

 

Tags:

One response to “Tribute to childhood friends

  1. ly-d

    December 29, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    yes, it would be!

    now you’ve got me wondering whatever happened to my childhood friends…

    — lemme start with checking out fb

     

Leave a Reply

 
