RSS

Street Performers – Motionless in Bukit Bintang

28 Feb

Street Performers

I love walking around in Bukit Bintang area in Kuala Lumpur. There’s always something interesting to see and to photograph. I went there last week armed with my camera and came across this street performer. He was covered in silver paint and sat there motionless for more than an hour at a time. People would stand (or sit) next to him, put their hands on his shoulder in all manners of poses but he just sits there.

Street Performers

Perhaps it would have been better for me to shoot in colour but at that time I only had a few rolls of Ilford Delta 100 with me. Nevertheless, I think the black and white images gives a certain mystery to him.

Street Performers

It takes a lot of discipline to do this. I am left wondering what is going through his mind when he does this? Does he go into a kind of trance or meditative state. His muscles must surely be cramping up even after 10 minutes. I know mine would. Still, it’s a living I suppose.

Street Performers

I didn’t have a tripod with me so I couldn’t carry out one of the images I had in mind which is a long exposure shot to show motion around him while he sits still. Maybe I’ll go back and if I’m lucky….

Street Performers

Street Performers

Canon EOS 3
EF 85mm f/1.2 L II
Ilford Delta 100 EI 100
D76 1+3 13:45 mins @ 24 deg c
Scanned in Canoscan 8800F

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
