RSS

Long time. Back with a vengeance…..

26 May

I know I know. Its been a ling time since I penned (typed) anything here. I suppose I look at the add new post page everyday and somehow I don’t feel inspired to write about anything. Until now.

Lots and lots of photo projects coming up. Some glamorous. Other not so. The highlight over the next 1 month will be my behind the scenes shot of the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra (MPO) performance of Gustav Mahler’s 6th Symphony ‘Tragic’ which is scheduled to be performed on the 6th and 7th June as one of the end of season climax to a very succesful 2008/09 season. Under the able hands of Music Director Maestro Claus Peter Flor, I am sure this is going to be one for the history books.

There’s a renewed vigour in the MPO and I find this project to be one of the most exciting I have ever undertaken. I had taken behind the scenes pictures of the MPO late last year and have even been privileged to be commisioned to take the 2009/10 season portraits of the Orchestra and the Music Director (haven’t and won’t display here until they have actually released the images to the public for at the end of the year. All I can say is that the portraits are some of the most powerful and honest I have ever taken). Anyway, back to the point.

I am not that familiar with Mahler’s work though it seems to be an extremely powerful piece from what I have read. KL itself doesn’t seem to have any cd versions in stock so I have ti import all the way from Singapore. My style of photography demands a lot of background work research when I do these kind of pieces. I try not to have any preconception or expectations of how the pictures will look like, preferring instead to focus on being absolutely present and conscious of what’s going on around me.

I will be meeting Maestro Peter sometime next week to understand the dos and don’ts of the photography involved. Rehearsals will start mid week and i intend to be there as much as I can. I am almost positive that no flash photography is allowed so I’ll be relying a lot on apertures being wide open (hmmm I can feel an excuse of the EF 24mm f/1.4 L coming here to add to my EF 85mm f/1.2 L). Most importantly I want to be a passive observer with as little a footprint on the scene as possible.

More later…….

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
