RSS

Camera equipment

02 Sep

I’ve never really entertained any discussions on whether Canon or Nikon is better and whenever anyone asked me I would always reply that each manufacturer has its strengths and weaknesses. Canon’s strength has always been the wide selection of lenses (the EF 85mm f/1.2 L comes to mind as a stellar lens) Nikon has of late come back with a vengeance on lens selection bringing a with lot of new lenses to the market (though I notice no f/1.2 equivalent to the 85mm). I had always held Nikon has an edge (a big one) in is Creative Lighting System (CLS). Canon’s speedlite system and wireless capabilities had always fallen a bit short for me. If there was any reason for me to switch from Canon to Nikon it would be because of the CLS.

Canon has finally announced the launch of the new Canon EOS 7D. I am extremely impressed with the new 19 point focussing system and the weather sealing on the body. These 2 functions are really what I missed from the 1 series body that I used to shoot with. The other thing which is worthy of celebrating is that the 7D body can now control speedlites with the on camera flash (which is a feature Nikon has had for awhile now and something I look at with envy). Bravo Canon. I am now looking forward to a replacement for the ST-E2 Speedlite. I am convinced that Canon will be upgrading it soon. The old ST-E2 can only control 2 groups A and B and had no control for Group C background. If they add this functionality to the upgrade then its worth looking at.

Would I buy the 7D? I am not sure. Its now a toss to between building my dSLR gear or building a digital rangefinder system or maybe both.

For me, my ideal line up for dSLR would be as follows:

1 full frame body
1 APS-C body
EF 16-3mm f/2.8 L II (used to have but sold it off for economic reason)
EF 24mm f/1.2 L II (never owned before)
EF 85mm f/1.2 L II (which is my fav lens)
EF 70-200 f/2.8 L IS (used to have but sold it off for economic reasons)
or the EF 70-200 f/4 L IS and the 135mm f/2.0 or the EF 200mm f/2.8
6 580 EX Speedlite (Currently have 4)

Haven’t got a clue for an ideal line up for a digital rangefinder but probably…

1 digital rangefinder
24mm Lux
50mm Cron
the tri-elmar
and some pocket wizards so I can use the Canon speedlites….

Life is good when you can dream and fantasize about such things……..

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
