RSS

The state of my photography…

19 Sep

I miss taking portraits.

Over the last one year, my body of work has shrunk tremendously. As I try to understand why, I realize that the main reason was a lack of desire. I have come up with lots of excuses- too much work, not enough time, not inspired, no interesting subject. Sort of like the same excuses I would use to justify the lack of entries on my blog. Life in terms of work has been tremendously rewarding though so I actually have no excuses.

I miss the human connection that portraiture work gave me.
I miss the challenge of getting the subject at ease with me so that I can capture their essence of who they really are.
I miss the exhilaration when at look at the monitor and more so when I print the portraits.
I miss the look of amazement when somebody gets a chance to look at my work.

Because of this, I feel a stirring in me and am now itching to get back behind the lens and implication, this blog…..

2 swans and a tourist
Bukit Tinggi, 2010
Leica M8.2
50mm F/1.1 Nokton

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
